Direktlänk till inlägg 29 november 2008

Ch Betty of Tibshelf

Av Jan-Erik Ek - 29 november 2008 12:19

Before the 1960's, not alot happened in Labradors in Sweden, but there were a few breeders before then whose efforts made a difference and one of those were Irma Brusewitz-Ohlsson, kennel av Oppensten.


It was in the 1930's Irma decided she wanted a good Labrador bitch. That would  not have been easy but Irma was an ambitios lady. In those days everything was more difficult with travelling or even to get in touch with someone over the phone. I am far from sure you would be able to phoning someone youself in the 30's without having to ordering the call in advance. Because of those difficulties, the connections with the outside world were more restricted and certainly writing was the way to staying in touch with anyone abroad up until fairly recently.


Irma used the services of an UK agent called Mr Bishop of Watford Heath, Herts. On 17th April 1936 he replied to a letter from Irma:
"Dear Madam, Many thanks for your letter. I am active in negotiation for the Labrador, and will let you know immediately I succeed in obtaining the right one".


After that things must have happened fast since the next letter is dated on 23rd of April, that same year. Probably they have kept in touch through telegrams as he then writes:
"Dear Madam, Many thanks for your letter. I have today bought the Labrador - Betty of Tibshelf. They are expecting her in season any time, and I have asked them to let me know immediately".


After that nothing happened as is often the case when you desperately are looking forward for your bitch to due in season but at last, on June 18th,  Irma receives the following delightful news:
"Dear Madam. I am pleased to inform you that the Labrador Betty of Tibshelf was mated last week /3rd-4th of June/ to a well known winning dog, Broom of Tibshelf. Please send by Air Mail the Export License and I will notify you when she will arrive".


Mr Bishop received good news from Irma and wrote her on August 11th;
"Dear Mrs Ohlsson. I am delighted with your good news. I am always ready to do my best and help anyone in Sweden. I said Betty was one of the best Labs that ever went out of the Country"


Mr Severn of Tibshelf Labradors is not mentioned in any of the letters so obviously Betty had been sold on to someone else. Pictured is Betty with her lovely litter, Irma must have been so proud and thrilled to have them.

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Jan-Erik Ek - 12 maj 2010 20:44

This evening is lovely and we decided to take advantage of it and take some photos. The pups (by Annuals Trendsetter x Thornbreaker's Bit of Class) are now 4 months and a week old and are coming on well.        ...

Av Jan-Erik Ek - 24 april 2010 16:48

Two years ago, I recieved an invitation from The Skye Terrier Club to judge at their open show in Gretna, just outside Glasgow, Scotland. To say I was thrilled would be an understatement and ever since that day I had been looking forward to go to Gre...

Av Jan-Erik Ek - 12 april 2010 08:41

     On January 3rd, 2010 my yellow bitch Thornbreaker's Bit of Class (Carpenny Hurricane x Thornbreaker's Wee Bit of Style) gave birth to 10 lovely puppies, 1 boy and 9 girls!! They have grown on well and some of them have moved to new home, but we...

Av Jan-Erik Ek - 14 mars 2010 00:16


   On Tuesday 9th of this month I had to take my precious black Labrador dog Knockie (Thornbreaker's Postman's Knock), aged 13 1/2 years, to the vet to be put to sleep. This never gets any easier no matter how many times you've gone through it before...

Av Jan-Erik Ek - 7 januari 2010 19:08


   I have been very busy during the autumn with my new committment as secretary of the Swedish Terrier Club. At the moment, with it having been Christmas and all that, things have been pretty quiet but expect it will be back to normal pretty soon. ...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards